The Florida Department of Transportation, Office of Motor Carrier Compliance, on March 1,1999, implemented a new Motor Carrier Registration Program for Intrastate motor carriers. If you operate only within the confines of the State of Florida, transporting persons or property, you must obtain an intrastate USDOT number. This number will be clearly recognized by the “FL” suffix. You are required to obtain a USDOT number and display it on all your commercial motor vehicles (CMV's) if:
- Has a declared gross vehicle weight of 26,001 lbs or more;
- Transports hazardous materials requiring placarding;
- Transports hazardous materials in a vehicle with a gross weight rating of 10,001 lbs or more; and/or
- Designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, for compensation.
Exceptions for Registering:
- Motor carriers operating solely intrastate when transporting agricultural, including horticultural or forestry products, from farm or harvest place to the first place of processing or storage, or from farm or harvest place directly to market.
- Motor carriers operating solely intrastate when their vehicles have a declared gross vehicle weight rating under 26,000 lbs., and transport petroleum products.
- Interstate motor carriers, since they should already have a USDOT number.
You can apply online, by mail or fax. There is no cost for obtaining a USDOT number. Once your application is received and processed, a letter assigning a Florida USDOT number, along with information on how it is to be displayed on all applicable vehicles, will be returned to you. This process will take approximately 2-3 weeks. Please keep a copy of your USDOT number application in all applicable vehicles until the number is received from our office.
Online: https://www.fmcsa.dot.govBy mailto:
Florida Highway Patrol
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement,
Florida DOT Numbers, 2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 41
Tallahassee, FL 32399.
By fax:(850) 617-5150
Penalties for Failure to Register
$500.00 fine per occurrence for operating without registering for DOT number
$50.00 fine per occurrence for operating a vehicle without the DOT number displayed
As of January 1, 2003, all new motor carriers (private and for-hire) are subject to the new entrant safety monitoring procedures for a period of 18 months.
Household Goods CarriersHousehold Goods Carriers must complete and submit an Household Moving Services Registration Application. There is a non-refundable 2-year $600 Registration fee. Other supporting documentation include, but are not limited to:
- Surety Bond (Original) in the amount of $25,000 or an original Certificate of Deposit in the amount of $25,000
- Form E & Form H submitted by insurance company
- Terry Rhodes Building
- 2005 Apalachee Parkway,
- Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500.
- Household Moving Services
- P.O. Box 6700.
- Tallahassee, FL 32314-6700.
Processing of mailed and online applications takes about 30 days assuming all completed information is accurate. It is possible to obtain authority same day in person, if all required information is completed properly.
Renewals are every 2 years based on the registration date. Renewals can be done in person, by mail or online.
For questions or details call 850.410.3800 or go to www.800helpfla.com/moving.html#forms.